Feliz Cumpleaños #3 Sophie

20130821-204623.jpg

The angels definitely delivered you to our door, that is for sure! You are a true gift from heaven. And, I absolutely adore being a mom, being your mom.

I tried my best to always show my love, but I’ve fallen short so many times.
Please know I treasured every moment with you.

There are moments I still feel you dancing in my belly, You are and will always be my baby, my angel.

I loved every minute of our time together, when I was pregnant with you. Moving together, practicing together on my yoga mat, you, sleeping within me—safe from the world. You taught me intimacy at a time when I needed it the most.

You are a leader, you listen to your needs and you are not afraid to make them known. I honor that about you. I knew this about you before I ever saw your face.

You are a quiet, observant spirit. You watch, tentative, calculated a master at making your moves appear fluidly spontaneous.

I remember feeding you, nursing you. I had to be patient and willing to wait. You would drink slowly, mindfully. Filling yourself to prepare to be awake, aware and engaged in everything you did. I watched you grow this way, from sitting up, to crawling, to walking, to running, to sprinting, to climbing, dancing, coloring, playing, practicing yoga.

You understand what others need before they even do. Being gentle with your friends, helping your brother.

The way you come up to me and touch my hand, “Mama, I love you, I love your heart.”

I will never ever forget what you said to me about a four months ago. We were sitting at the table and you looked through me with the x-ray intuition of a sage, “Mama do you know what? I looked at you today and I saw your heart.” “What did my heart look like Sophie?”

“It looked like Love, Mommy.”

From the first time I looked in your eyes I recognized that you know, you know in ways I never will. You understand and I hope you never ever lose that. I will help protect your knowledge, your eternal love and wisdom as long as I live.

You love school, learning, reading, drawing, playing make believe. Sitting and watching you play with your baby doll. Sometimes you don’t even know I watch you, but I do. You are a care taker, a lover, a mother. You tell me all the time how you can not wait to be a mommy. You are good at it, the best.

I love how you eat. You take time, you enjoy every bite, you taste. I learn so much from you. This is how you live your life, you taste every morsel of life.

Your favorite line is, “I can do it by myself.” Yes, I know you can, but sometimes let others help you. It is a lesson I am still learning myself, but it does us some good to let go of responsibility from time to time.

There is just something about you. Something out of this world and I respect it. I always will. I promise to support you in whatever you decide to do in life because I know it is your journey to have. The other day, you told me you are going to be an actress, like you mommy.

Whatever you do and wherever you go, I will hold your hand like I do right now, and I will walk with you.

I am just grateful you chose me to be your mother. I waited for a very long time for you, my kindred spirit.

Sometimes, I wish I could eat the moments with you. When I walk passed your room and find you playing on your floor, singing into your play microphone, or reading a book. I love how you express yourself in your art, many rainbows and hearts, happy pictures reflecting the happiness in your heart.

I’m not worried about you, because you know what you are doing, even when you don’t think you do.

You will always be safe, you will always be protected, and you will always be loved.

Go adventure, be brave, be bold, be courageous because you are meant to discover, to create, to learn, to experience it all and I will love you every step of the way, no matter what.

Con todo mi corazón,

Mamá

Responder

